Minutes of the Annual Town Council Meeting held on Wednesday 17th May 2023 at 7.00pm.

Present: Councillors: Huw Cox, Sue Clarke, John Bailey, Paul Georghiades, Emma Fitzpatrick, Ron Fox, Sylvee Phillips, and Judith Hart (Town Clerk).

In attendance: Cllrs John Nutley and Stuart Rogers (Teignbridge District Council),

Press: None

23/23. Election of Town Mayor and Chair of the Town Council for 2023/24 and Declaration of Acceptance of Office:

The Clerk invited nominations for the position of Town Mayor and Chair. Two candidates were nominated - Cllr Huw Cox was nominated by Cllr Sylvee Phillips and seconded by Cllr Emma Fitzpatrick. Cllr Sue Clarke was nominated by Cllr John Bailey and seconded by Cllr Ron Fox. With two votes each Cllr Georghiades voted for Cllr Cox who was duly elected.

23/24. Apologies for absence: Cllr Leigh Walker-Haworth

23/25. Election of Deputy Town Mayor and Deputy Chair of the Town Council for 2023/24 and Declaration of Acceptance of Office:

The Chair invited nominations for the above position and Cllr Sue Clarke was nominated by Cllr Fox which was seconded by Cllr Georghiades with all members in agreement. With no further nominations, Cllr Sue Clarke was duly elected.

23/26. Declaration of Acceptance of Office by all elected Town Councillors and to grant permission for absent Councillors to sign their Declarations in the presence of the Clerk outside of the Annual Meeting:

Declarations signed. Approval was given by all Members present for Cllr Walker-Haworth to sign outside of this meeting in the presence of the Clerk due to his work commitments.

23/27. Appointment of the Chair of the Finance Committee and Members of this Committee:

Cllr Georghiades was proposed as Chair by Cllr Phillips and seconded by Cllr Cox with all Members in agreement. Cllrs Cox, Bailey, and Fox were appointed to this committee.

23/28. Appointment of the Chair of the Tourism, Recreation and Community Development Committee and Members of this Committee:

Cllr Cox was proposed as Chair by Cllr Phillips and seconded by Cllr Clarke with all Members in agreement. Cllrs Clarke, Phillips, Fitzpatrick, and Walker-Haworth were appointed to this committee.

23/29. Appointment of the Chair of the Personnel Committee and Members of this Committee:

Cllr Clarke was appointed as Chair with all Members in agreement and Cllrs Fox, Bailey, and Phillips as committee members.

23/30. Appointment of Members to the Planning Review Group:

Cllrs Phillips, Fitzpatrick, Fox, and Bailey.

23/31. Review and appointment of new signatories to the Town Council bank account:

Decision: Councillors Cox, Clarke and Fox will continue as signatories to the bank account. Cllr Georghiades was appointed as the fourth signatory. Clerk to action.

23/32. Appointment to the following organisations:

- Buckfastleigh Relief in Need Charity trustees (3 Councillors needed). Cllr Clarke to attend a meeting to establish what is required.
- Victoria Park and Swimming Pool (1 Councillor to represent the Town Council). Cllr Fitzpatrick appointed.
- Buckfastleigh Youth Forum (1 or 2 Councillors). Cllrs Clarke and Georghiades appointed.
- Bungalow Youth Management Committee (1 Councillor). Cllr Phillips appointed.

23/33. To adopt the General Power of Competence:

To achieve the General Power of Competence the Town Council must ensure that it meets the conditions of eligibility as set out in the Parish Councils (General Power of Competence) (Prescribed Conditions) Order 2012.

Resolution: Members agreed that the eligibility criteria for using the General Power of Competence have been met.

23/34. Public Question Time: No public present.

Meeting closed at 7.17 pm.